Go to Top

Sixteen Bodhisattva Precepts

The Sixteen Bodhisattva Precepts are an essential part of Zen practice.
One translation commonly used is given below.

I take refuge in the Buddha
before all being, immersing body and mind deeply in the Way, awakening true mind.

I take refuge in the Dharma
before all being, entering deeply the merciful ocean of Buddha’s Way.

I take refuge in the Sangha
being all being, bringing harmony to everyone, free from hindrance.

Pure Precepts
I vow to refrain from all evil.
I vow to make every effort to live in enlightenment.
I vow to live and be lived for the benefit of all beings.

Grave Precepts
I vow not to kill.
I vow not to take what is not given.
I vow not to misuse sexuality.
I vow to refrain from false speech.
I vow to refrain from intoxicants.
I vow not to slander.
I vow not to praise self at the expense of others.
I vow not to be avaricious.
I vow not to harbor ill will.
I vow not to disparage the Three Treasures.